Project A – The Guild Karachi Book Club Icebreaker

 

Photo By: Nabiha Zeeshan

So, today Project A – The Guild achieved an important milestone. The first ever Book Club in Karachi kicked off at 5.30pm at The Second Floor (popularly known as T2F). My friend, Tehniat, was kind enough (good for her 😉 ) to pick me up and we set off together to the T2F. I was going there for the first time and to be very honest, I didn’t notice it until Tehniat and I were standing right at the door and she said, “This is it. This is T2F, yes!” We hurried inside and whatever met my eyes then removed all doubts from my mind about the place – it was a one-in-a-million art heaven!

 

Photo By: Nabiha Zeeshan

The ground floor is dedicated to art exhibitions and other events. A carpet adorns one side of the floor, while paintings, photographs and the likes on the walls are a source of instant refreshment from the hustle bustle of daily life. There is a coffee stop in one corner.

Photo By: Nabiha Zeeshan

Ascending the twisting staircase, I sensed a feeling of casualness, smartness and uniqueness hanging in the air. I was taking photos with every step, much to the annoyance of my bestie, but there was no stopping me and I know that my bestie would never have stopped me for real, being a photo-addict herself!

We opened the door to the second floor seating area and behold! The first thing that caught my eyes was an arrangement of small square tables, capable of seating four and six, dominated by – and it’s very unusual indeed – books! Books on the shelves, books on the tables, books on the counters, books inside the rooms, books in people’s hands – it had a very strong impact on me. Not only that, but the counter had a Mac perched on it where our orders were being recorded. The walls were lined with black and white photographs and coloured paintings.

The balcony area, which is reserved for smokers, is furnished by one square table, a pedestal fan and four chairs. But the entire setting is given the ‘artistic’ look by the wall mural paintings by Ammad Tahir.

 

T2F - The Second Floor

Photo By: Nabiha Zeeshan

So much for the description of the cafe` itself. Let’s move on to the Karachi Book Club. Tehniat and I waited for half an hour before realising (thanks to timely tweets by Tehniat) that a couple sitting at another table was also waiting for Karachi Book Club members to arrive. And that’s how it all began – first, it was the four of us and then soon people were pouring in. My friend had to get up time and again as familiar faces joined the party and she greeted them (having known them through Twitter).

Photo By: Nabiha Zeeshan

After twelve happy people were seated excitedly around three square tables joined together right in the middle of the floor, and after Kamil Rextin had finally figured his way to T2F after getting lost thrice, the meeting officially kicked off. Each member discussed briefly what book they had brought with them, what it meant to them, why it was their favourite and what was special about it. In all, ten books were reviewed and voting proposed “Welcome To Advertising, …Now Get Lost” by Omkar Sane as the most popular. So Saif Ali Khan went home pleased to have suggested what became the “Book of the Month”.

